Decoding the Hidden Meaning Behind the Chakra Symbols

chakra symbols

For centuries, practitioners of holistic techniques and spiritual seekers have been drawn to the mysterious and alluring symbols that symbolize the chakras. These historical chakra symbols, which vary in their unique designs and meanings, act as a doorway into the complexities of our internal energy centers.

Examining the spiritual domain contained by these chakra symbols reveals a captivating path to self-discovery and enlightenment. Understanding the hidden meanings behind these symbols aids access to deep wisdom that points us in the direction of balance and self-awareness.

These symbols guide us toward a healthy, conscious, and spiritually fulfilling life while also opening doors into the depths of our inner selves.  


7 Chakra Symbols


Root chakra symbol 

Root chakra

Of the seven Chakra symbols, the Root Chakra is connected to the earth element. It symbolizes the genesis of human consciousness, depicted through various elements. In Hindu tradition, its color, red, signifies Shakti, denoting awakening and the transition to active awareness.

The four-petaled lotus at its core represents facets of the psyche—mind, intellect, consciousness, and ego—marking the dawn of self-awareness. Alternatively, it symbolizes life’s goals: virtue, purpose, pleasure, and spiritual liberation.

The square shape denotes physicality, embodying elements like cardinal directions and seasons. The inverted triangle signifies consciousness seeded into the chakra and its evolution.

Additional symbols, like the sacred syllable “LAM,” depict awakening. At the same time, depictions of Shiva and an elephant with seven trunks represent the shift from animalistic tendencies to higher consciousness and stability, rooted in ancient Ayurvedic and spiritual symbolism.


Sacral chakra symbol 

Sacral chakra symbol

The Sacral Chakra is linked to the element of water, which represents fluidity, flow, movement, and aliveness. 

The color orange represents it, signifies activity, and purified energy in Hindu tradition. Its six-petaled lotus denotes qualities to overcome—anger, hatred, jealousy, cruelty, desire, and pride.

The number six, symbolizing extroverted femininity and cycles, resonates in various facets of life. The symbol of circles forming the moon embodies continuous change and invites embracing life’s flow.

Additional elements like the seed syllable “VAM,” deities Brahma and Sarasvati, and the crocodile depict awakening, creativity, and the duality of strength and weakness within this chakra, offering insight into its complex symbolism.   


Solar plexus chakra symbol 

Solar plexus 

The Solar Plexus Chakra symbolizes vibrant energy associated with the color yellow, representing fire, the sun, and radiating power. In Hindu culture, yellow embodies meditation, competence, and mental development.

Its 10-petaled lotus holds dual meanings. Either representing subtle energy forms (pranas) in Ayurveda or qualities to overcome for chakra opening. This chakra governs vitality, immunity, and energy exchange, akin to a cosmic energy magnet aiding digestion.

The downward-pointing triangle in this Chakra symbol signifies energy attraction and radiation into the world.

Elements like the sacred syllable “RAM,” deities Vishnu and Lakshmi, and the Aries symbolize the awakening of the Solar Plexus Chakra, signifying evolved consciousness, control over instincts, and willful energy akin to fire.


Heart chakra symbol 

Symbol of Heart chakra

The Heart Chakra, symbolized by green, embodies life, nature, and interconnectedness, reflecting peace and happiness.

Its 12-petaled lotus holds contrasting interpretations—either representing divine qualities like love, unity, and forgiveness or qualities to overcome, such as lust and anxiety.

The hexagram symbol signifies the Heart Chakra’s pivotal role, bridging the physical and spiritual chakras, seeking balance between spirit and matter.

Moreover, the hexagram represents the union of male and female energies, embodying consciousness and surrender in unity.

Additional symbols like the sacred syllable “YAM,” Hindu deities Shiva, Shakti, and Vayu, along with the antelope, signify awakening, the union of masculine and feminine energies, and qualities associated with vulnerability and grace.


Throat chakra symbol 

Symbol of Throat chakra 

The Throat Chakra, depicted in blue, signifies openness, wisdom, trust, and purity. Its 16-petaled lotus embodies the 16 Kalas stages of development from basic abilities to an embodiment of the divine. 

Additionally, they symbolize Lord Krishna’s 16 abilities related to expression, like dance and truth. The symbol of a triangle, described as an upward-opening triangle, signifies the chakra’s role as a channel for soul consciousness and truthful expression. 

 A central circle represents the full moon, symbolizing a purified mind. The sacred syllable “HAM” awakens the Throat Chakra and can be found at its center.

Hindu deity Brahma, representing pure consciousness, and the white elephant, symbolizing luck and a connection between heaven and earth, further enrich the chakra’s symbolism.


Third eye chakra symbol 

Third eye

The Third Eye Chakra is represented by indigo or purple, embodying royalty, wisdom, mystery, and faith. Its symbol, a two-petaled lotus, signifies the remaining duality between self and God, where the soul realizes its true essence yet hasn’t merged entirely with the divine.

Some interpret the petals to symbolize the brain’s two sides or the parts of the pituitary gland linked to this chakra.

Furthermore, the Third Eye Chakra symbol includes the revered OM symbol in Hinduism, representing ultimate reality, consciousness, and the soul (Atman). OM transcends time, knowledge, and ordinary consciousness, leading beyond the duality of God and Soul.

These symbols encapsulate the Third Eye Chakra’s essence, emphasizing spiritual insight, transcendence, and the journey toward unity and higher consciousness.  


Crown chakra symbol    

Crown chakra

The Crown Chakra represents Space or Nothingness, the union of self and the infinite source of creation, self-transcendence, and unity. Its Sanskrit name, Sahasrara, means “thousand” as well as “infinite.”

Its icon, a thousand-petalled violet or white lotus, represents the pinnacle of consciousness. White, made up of all colors, represents the unbroken source of creation and thus captures the essence of this chakra.

The thousand-petaled lotus, which symbolizes the ultimate state of spiritual enlightenment and oneness with the infinite, reflects the full blossoming of consciousness.

The Crown Chakra, representing the pinnacle of consciousness and oneness with the divine source, is a sign of ultimate spiritual connection and enlightenment.  


Summing up 

These Chakra symbols light our way to self-awareness, recovery, and spiritual development. Knowing the secret meaning behind each chakra symbol is an investigation of our true nature rather than just a test of knowledge in interpreting old symbols.  You can learn more about the energy chakras and its importance in our Kundalini yoga teacher training in Rishikesh

As we incorporate these realizations into our daily lives, we set out on a life-changing journey toward harmony, balance, and a closer relationship with both the outside world and ourselves.

With their spiritual charm, the chakra symbols never stop guiding us on our ageless journey toward enlightenment and inner peace.

Prabhakaran Balu
Latest posts by Prabhakaran Balu (see all)